teach

mayday! digital noise/static

12 posts in this topic

Hi all, new member here, joined specifically for help with this topic.

Quick background info: I am a technician in a college and am having trouble with our studio setup. I do not have a music background, we have only run this music course for 2 years, I am generally good with this sort of stuff and have learned alot since running the course, but I am stuck on this and need help!

I am currently experiencing issues with digital noise/static (best I can describe) only when using a preamp mic. Through lots of testing I have managed to figure out that it is the power/wall socket that seems to be providing the feedback. If I use an SM58 (no preamp just an XLR cable) it is fine, no static. But when I use a preamp mic, as soon as I connect the power cable, I get a digital hum/static which is terrible, and this is before the amp is even turned on.

Any clues??

My guess was that its something to do with how the sockets are wired up, grounding issue?  thats as far as I got lol     

thanks in advance

Yes, you have grounding issue. Check your preamp,  maybe you have some switch called "DI" on it ? Upload some pictures with the preamp  and the power plug (cable). 

ok i've taken pics, but can't figure how to upload them. Tried what I ususally do for forums - upload to photobucket then paste in the URL...says I can't do that on here

Use the EDIT, Full Editor Function  and after that Attach files, or More Reply Options, there you will have attach files option.