John Nelson

want to set up bedroom mixing area

6 posts in this topic

Hello, i am a audio engineer recording student that would love to start a bedroom mixing/listening room.. i know about having acoustic treatments and all of that.. my question is would this set up work if i had all the right treatment and ect.  I dont see too many examples of this method.. but none the less would this still work as a functioning mixing room?  the picture is attached

post-23983-0-91114300-1408417648_thumb.png

G,day Ozman,

Great pic! :)

Aside from the practicality of needing to climb under/over your desk to get to your seat, the primary reason you won't see this type of layout is to do with room acoustics. Low frequencies (bass) tends to collect and reverberate (boom) at the room perimeters, such as the walls, and more so in the corners.

So such a set-up would have you sitting smack back in the middle of an area overloaded with bass, up to around 9dBA louder than other areas. Certainly gives your speakers plenty of bang for their buck, at the expense of clarity and balance across the low end frequencies.

In saying that, having your speakers away from the walls actually helps to not couple with the room itself, so effectively calming their bass output.

So it's really just the seat in the room corner that's the primary concern.

What's the purpose for the rest of the room?

The #1 ideal spot will be directly facing into the right hand wall, with the desk, say half a metre out from the wall, so the speakers aren't pushed up against the wall itself. And watch out they're not pushed into the room corners either.

The 2nd preference would be along one of the longer walls, whether the bottom of top walls in the picture.