cameron36

Radio Sound Installation

3 posts in this topic

Hey all,

Basically, i'm trying to put together this sonic installations in which an fm/am radio plays recordings of number stations on 4 different radio frequencies. I'd like to hook the radio up my laptop with max msp so when the radio station is switched to another, the lights in the room along with the background music are changed as well. The sound/ lighting set up I know I can configure with max msp. My only question is how am I going to get this radio to sync with the lights and music and how can I transmit a recording of each number station on 4 individual frequencies? I've thought about making the radio a midi controller, so when the knob is turned to a different station it changes the music via the computer. I have no experience in creating midi controllers, though. Another thought was to transmit a few radio frequencies from my computer using a wireless network adapter and somehow have the radio pick up on them but, once again, i'm not sure exactly that would be achieved. If anyone has any thoughts or ideas that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Must this absolutely involve radio broadcast? If not, here are some thoughts/ideas (however irrelevant/useless they may be, and you left it open to ‘any’… :blush: )

You could considering building the ‘radio’ as an active speaker and sending it four separate channels of audio from an audio interface, via a wireless audio sender, triggering on/off each audio signal via a potentiometer or button on a wireless controller attached to the speaker/amp unit. So if that would work, you dial the knob/button on the 'radio' which sends a command to trigger the audio software to mute/unmute a channel’s audio signal with the audio interface's output/s via a patch leading to the wireless sender with a receiver built in or attached to the ‘radio’?