Kneal7

Power amp & Speaker Ohms

7 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm just getting into setting up a live PA and I was wondering about the ohms - watt ratio. If i have 2 400w speakers @ 8ohms does it mean I need an 800w power amp at 4 ohms...

Also what happens to the ohms if you daisy chain the speakers....?

Is it possible to have 12 ohms? From memory i can only remember seeing 2,4,8,16..

Regards

No, it means you need a 2 channel amp rated for 400Watts per channel into 8 ohms if you're running stereo.

If you hook the speakers up in parallel (i.e. feed the next one off the last one) then you will end up with a 4 ohm load - resistance decreases as you parallel up the speakers. There's an equation for it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resistor . The more speakers in parallel, the lower the resistance will become.

IF you hook the 2 speakers up in mono off one channel of the amp (i.e. parallel) you need the amp rated 800Watts at 4 ohms. Most amps are stereo amps these days (or 2 channel) so IF you want to run mono, i suggest you hook the speakers up one per amp channel and then take a mono feed into the amp (i.e. a 400W x 2 @ 8Ohm amp will do you). This is better for the amp as loading one channel up and not the other can cause damage to the amplifier unless it's what the call a "Dual Mono" amplifier. Basically, to cut costs, most manufacturers share components between amp channels... so it's generally only the better amps that have totally independant channels and can operate with one under load(driving a speaker) and the other not under load (no speakers).

You can get 12 ohms... HOWEVER... most speakers are nominal 4 or 8 ohms. To get 12 ohms, you'd have to put a 4 ohm speaker in SERIES with an 8 ohm speaker. This isn't a normal or easy way to hook speakers up - they typically hook up in parallel and all PA speakers with a "speaker Out" connection are connecting the next speaker in parallel, so the resistance will go down.