Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dyz

Ambient Drums?

2 posts in this topic

Hi, I am quite new to the whole home studio concepts and skills. I have started roughly an year ago. I am a competent self-taught guitarist and have a solid musical root from professional piano/theory lessons before I stopped. I've recently started to produce some of my own music ranging from electronic music to my preferred style of jazz/fusion. http://soundcloud.com/djdyzlexic a few examples of my skills and limitations

Anyways, I have recently stumbled upon a very interesting form of music - ambient. The drum patterns and sound design very much fascinates me and I would like to learn how this is produced.

http://soundcloud.com/owsey/sweetheart-of-kairi-coma-last <- an example of what I desire produced by Owsey.

Would someone please care to guide me through this? In detail if possible and specifically for Ableton, maybe?

Thank you!

Hi Dyz,

Welcome to soundpunk and apols for taking so long to reply!

If I were to analyze the drums in the Owzey track, they represent some techniques and sounds that you'll find throughout the ambient style, so I'll start with that:

- sparse, open, minimal 'main' drum track, peppered with occasional but complex mini-patterns around the top end percussion

- the main patterns are so simple I'd be sequencing them note for note using single samples, rather than bother finding present loops. The more sfx-type syncopated mini-patterns could either be preset loops or sequenced yourself. Me, I tend to use abut 50/50 loops vs sequencing so whatever works is fine by me.

- sounds like a TR-808-type kick drum. 808 kicks are good for ambient as they are round, full, a gentler attack to them, with a med-to-long decay. The kick in this track blends really well with the bass, sounds like the attack of the bass notes and the bass notes sound like the decay of the kick... very clever.