Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
shadow6677

Ambient/Electronic Drums?

10 posts in this topic

I'm new to this kind of stuff but I would really like to learn how to make Ambient drums

Stuff like this

I'm not sure if that's just a bunch of percussive effects or if i have to add layers over the drums? Any help would be great! I'd even take a sample pack if there is one floating around.

Cool. Looks like my computer's posting again on the site!

Now given the musical layers, I find it a little hard to dissect. For starters, the drums sound heavily driven (ie. distorted kicks).

There's also a triplet delay on the snare/rimshot-like sound, but only on certain hits, around 1/3 way through the track. One could mute/un-mute the send to the delay as required.

The sounds are unique, and it helps to have an idea how patterns are formed, the relationship between kick and the snare. And listening to the high hats, theres a open-high-hat sound that's almost like a sweeping/brushing sound. And there are a couple of points were a more traditional snare roll/fill is layered over the rest.

Listening to the rest of the track, they've certainly had fun with 'reverse reverb' tricks on the vocals, amongst other things (ask if you're not sure what this means/how it's done).

Coming from a drumming background, it's not overly complicated, but I can appreciate getting it to sound spot on is gonna be a bit of a mission. What have you got so far? Are the patterns coming together and it's just the sounds themselves you're trying to nail now?

I Need help with mostly all of it. If you could teach me the patterns and everything that would be great because right now I'm just kinda winging it and its kinda working but I'd much rather have someone who's good at it tell me.

I don't need to have the exact sound of it but something close to it and the structure of the pattern would help immensely.