What are the different techniques in the processes behind the production of hip hop music compared to modern heavy metal music?

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

IngridWolff

IngridWolff

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationAdelaide
My name is Ingrid, and I am a year 12 student at Faith Lutheran College in Tanunda, South Australia.
My school, with the rest of the state are now doing a compulsory research project,
and I have chosen to do mine on audio engineering and the processes behind it as my project.
I am trying to find out the difference between the techniques used behind the
processes of producing a hip hop song vs modern heavy metal, if there are any differences.
I also would like to know what are the effects and purpose of each individual process in the producing of audio.
I plan to continue into this line of study, and hopefully further into work when I finish year 12
and I believe this project will improve my understanding and knowledge of audio engineering immensely.

Thank you,
Ingrid Wolff

Cheyne

Cheyne

VIP Member

• Administrators
  • 2734 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco
Hi Ingrid!

Welcome to SoundPunk, great to hear high school students getting into audio engineering.

Im sure you'll get the answers you need from our members here soon.

I would say hip hop music is going to be very sequencer based, lots of drum machines, MPC's, 808's, 909's and less of a live element to it. Music created in a studio.
Heavy metal will be more expressive, most likely created in someones basement until its ready to be refined and then its brought into the studio to be mixed and compressed into something more complete.