Inconsistencies with a digital board, or is it me? or psychology?

Yamaha Digital sound audio church LS9 help

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

Ethand20

Ethand20

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The Situation:
I recently took over running sound at a church in Morgantown, WV. We use a Yamaha LS9 digital mixing console, with 4 mixes for on stage monitors. there are 9 people in the band/praise team. we use QSC amps. the Acoustic, Electric, and Bass Guitarists play through Peavy amps on stage that are Mic'd for the system. there is a Clarinova on stage that is played consistently. we have 1 trumpet player, and 1 Sax/FLute Player. in addition to a drummer, and 3 or 4 vocalists. That sould be about everything, if i've left out any useful info please ask.

I've been running sound for about 7 years, but due to the technology and training available I would say i'm still a novice, I only recently started with this board, room and band.

The Problem:
there are 3 teams that share the stage, and most of the instruments etc, (praise god for digital boards... almost) 2 teams are exactly the same except for the vocalists. I have the same instrument setting for both teams, and have the settings saved in seperate folders not changing much week to week, save minor adjustments. however I am consistently told after service on sunday that the mix was COMPLETELY DIFFERENT and no-one could hear themselves, come practice this problem tends to be isolated to the Winds, and the piano player.