Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Rand0m

New to music production

8 posts in this topic

I guess I'll use this post as my introduction to these forums and to ask a few questions/advice. Someone suggested this site to me from another website http://www.cosm.co.nz/, which I feel I should include in this post. Tom Cosm also has some amazing tutorials for beginners like myself and I can't help but support guys who give their music out for free.

Right now I am a university student and was getting increasingly bored with my life, so I decided to try to make the music I listen to all the time. In my life I've had little in the way of music production or musical even musical training. Played the violin for years when I was quite young and the guitar (standard teenage instrument) for about a year. Besides that I've had very limited experience with music, just listening really. I have been listening to what I would label as "electronic" for many years and was first introduced to the genre by accident while streaming internet radio (probably 7 years ago) and it has become my most favorite genre (http://www.last.fm/user/xRand0mx). So I recently picked up Ableton Live 8, a M-Audio KeyRig 49 (small budget) and an APC 40. I've been playing around with that equipment for around a month. The APC 40 is an amazing piece of hardware. Very nooby friendly :(. More recently I bought the Komplete package due to that incredible deal and it has been a blast just going through all of that. Probably the most fun I've had in a long time.

I really only have one question and that is, how does one go about remxing? I've been told by many people to go out and remix songs. But I can't seem to figure it out. Like what if I just want the lyrics? Or a specific section of a song without taking the drum beat in the background? Are there any websites dedicated to this or tutorials based around ableton software?

Any other advice would be much appreciated and I thank you in advance.

-Rand0m