Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
s yes

I'm a beginner...help/advice required please

22 posts in this topic

This is why I’m here…..

I’ve been making music for years now  using cool edit pro for editing samples and acid pro for writing. I’m doing ok at the moment and look to be releasing stuff and getting it distributed next year in the UK. Before next June 2009 I need to be able to present my project live which I should be able to do – have addition members etc BUT….

……what I need/want to do is get my own act together regarding what I play. (stay with me  please..)

I have obtained an Oxygen 49 Midi controller (which comes with Ableton 6). I want to be able to assign loops to individual keys so when I hit a key on the oxygen it starts a loop and when I hit another key, it also adds to the sound and so on and so on….i think you get the idea.

First question; can this be done using Acid? – I really like This software and ideally if I can get this done using  acid I’ll be happy and closer to reaching my goal. If I’m going to have to use ableton I think it’ll take me longer to sort out.

I have a laptop. I have acid pro/cool edit and the oxygen 49 attached…now I need to make a noise come out of it all….any help appreciated

Be gentle.

xx

Honestly mate , if you've got ableton already there , id load your loops up into that and buy a trigger finger or some other type of pad based controller ..  Assigning loops and triggers in ableton couldnt be easier  .. even if you dont use ableton as the main sequencer , at least re-wire it .

p.s .. Welcome to SoundPunk mate ;)

ditto on using ableton

load your loops into there

you can map them to be triggered by keys on your ozone

another approach in live 6 is to make simpler racks to control multiple samples

once you got your head around live basics research dummy clips and racks