Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dane

Help with getting started (again)

15 posts in this topic

Hey and hello..

I need some help. I've been trying (and struggling) to get back into music so I'm bringing together bits and peices in hope that it all fits. I dont have too much knowledge as in a way Im just starting out but I want to get my head around production more so atm thats where the limited budget is going.

Atm I have 2 decks and a Urei 1601s for playing beats that seems ok but is this mixers output only via XLR cables? If so do I need a new amp?

Now with the production and that I'm having a bit more trouble. I have decent laptop around 1-2 yrs old that shouldnt be problem for now and a triggerfinger that I never used from a couple of years back. The trigger finger is yet to make a sound and Ive been reading over the manual a bit so should work it out soon enough (i hope). Im looking into an external sound card but as stated knowledge is limited. Is this the right way to go?

I have the Albeton lite so Ill try upgrade that to Live asap but what else should I look at to first start up program wise?

I dont know if this makes much sense but even if someone can answer anything, some direction it would help a lot..

Thanks

dane

Hey Dane ;) ... 

Re: The cables

You can buy converters to change the XLR into a 1/4 TRS or something a bit more common..    You dont need to fork out for a whole new amp.

Re: Production

Before anyone else says it here , just to clear things up , your Trigger Finger dosnt actually make noise , it just controls parameters of things that DO make noise.  Such as a drum machine , or you can even use it to play a synth , like keys ... (If your a really dodgy pianist like me ;D )

I own a trigger finger my self , and combined with Ableton its a load of fun ...  using it to trigger samples is pretty much all I use it for ...  And assigning some knobs to effect parameters..